8 months of OCaml after 8 years of Haskell in production

Hi everyone :wave:

I’ve been using Haskell in production for the previous 8 years. I’ve been quite active in the Haskell community, and some of you may remember my past contributions to the community and the ecosystem.

For the last 8 months, I’ve been using OCaml at Bloomberg, and my focus switched to a different language from the ML family.

I wrote a blog post comparing two languages from my POV:

I tried to provide a reasonable and balanced overview of these two languages, although my experience in both is significantly different. I hope this blog post can give a rough idea of both languages :relieved:

And who knows, maybe both OCaml and Haskell can improve and get better by inspiring each other :hugs:

Enjoy! And let me know any feedback you have!

29 Likes

If I come to an existing Haskell project, the worst thing previous developers could do… Well, my previous 8 years of Haskell experience can’t prepare me for that :sweat_smile:

That’s why I feel more productive in OCaml.

Interestingly, John Carmack said something similar in an interview (I think with Lex Friedmann), when describing why he prefers C over more powerful languages (amongst other reasons): small language surface, easy onboarding, less over-engineering.

I wonder if that’s why he lost interest in Haskell too.

I personally don’t have a lot of trouble staying away from the half baked language features (type families is half baked) in my own projects, but yes, you get exposed anyway.

5 Likes

I would have thought an incremental approach would be the best option here: surely it must be easier to see what feature or extension is required after putting together a small prototype, rather than trying to imagine what’s best to use before any code has been written.