Advice about use of typeclasses in my project

Hi everyone! I am new here and a beginning Haskeller.

I have a question. I am writing an app and a few days ago I asked a question on stackoverflow. The commenters suggested that my approach, based on the experience with java, is not a very functional style. and as a beginner, I should not define my typeclasses.

In the light of making my style more functional, I want to ask about certain part of the code I am trying to write.

Currently I defined two types of curves on 2D plane

-- Y = slope * X +constant
data LinearCurve = LinearCurve {slope::Double,constant :: Double}

data Point = Point {x::Double,y::Double} 

-- piece wise linear curve that connects given points
newtype PieceWiseLinearCurve = DataCurve{points :: [XYPoint]}

data CoordType = X | Y

type Err = String

Later, other types of curves could be added.

What I need is an interpolating function for all different types of curves.

interpolate :: a -> CoordType -> Double -> Either Err Double 

My approached based on my past java experience would be to create typeclass and then make instance for every type that I want to have ability to interpolate. But now it seems to me, that even this wording is more OOP than functional - having data types ability to do something is pretty OOP way of thinking I guess…

Anyway, If I forbid myself to define typeclasses I can define new type

newtype Interpolator = Interpolator (CoordType -> Double -> Either Err Double)

and bunch of functions that give me this Interpolator based on the data. I guess, it would be better to combine all curves into one type

data Curve = LinC LinearCurve
          |  PieceLinC PieceWiseLinearCurve

and write one function

getInterpolatorFromCurve :: Curve -> Interpolator

But of course, many different things can be used to get Interpolator. For example, I can write

getInterpolatorFromPoints :: (XYPoint, XYPoint) -> Interpolator