Build Haskell Completely From Nix

Hey all. Bold idea I’m piecing together, and just wanted ideas and input on how to do it.

I’m no Nix expert, but I know there’s certainly a ton of capability behind it… as soon as one understands it. But from what I DO see, we have all the capabilities to build Haskell applications from just Nix, and Nix has all the pieces but not quite assembled yet.

I should also clarify some things: I mean doing this without Cabal or Stack. No *.cabal, no stack.yaml, just with Haskell files and GHC from Nix. Also, not with Flakes. I’d ideally want a VCS-pulled build to be achievable by only installing Nix, running nix-build, and configuring nothing in-between. Or all development dependencies available in a nix-shell, so a developer for such an application doesn’t need to install anything besides Nix and an IDE (or optionally configure nix-shell with vscode inside it)

But why? Why not. Nix has a lot of Haskell packages available (appropriately from the haskellPackages attr), and of course has building capabilities, so why defer to Cabal and Stack to also manage dependencies and build instructions?

In looking into this, I found this article on building Haskell using Make, which looks like an absolute pain, but it does give a little direction towards just nix-building an Haskell application. We just have to pass things into GHC in the buildPhase of a derivation. Not nearly as graceful, but this is sorta what Cabal is doing under the hood (sans Nix), no?

So for a single ./app/Main.hs file, this works:

let
    rootDir = <path to your project root from this file>;
    testConfig = {
        name = "TestHaskellApp";
        version = "0.0.1";
        main = "${rootDir}/app/Main.hs";
    };
in
pkgs.stdenv.mkDerivation {
  pname = testConfig.name;
  version = testConfig.version;
  src = ./.;
  buildInputs = [
    pkgs.nix
    pkgs.nixfmt
    pkgs.bash
    pkgs.curl
    pkgs.toybox
    pkgs.man
    pkgs.ghc