Building web apps in 2024 - learning resources, libraries etc

Hi all! I was wondering if I wanted to start a web app (backend) from scratch using Haskell, what are the “best” approaches/libraries/frameworks/tools these days? I did some online search and can see there are a few options out there, but to be honest I’m not sure which one to chose and what are the pros and cons (although I guess most depends on the kind of app you want to build!).

As a relative newcomer to Haskell (I learned the basics a few years ago but never had the chance to work on a big-size project apart from a few months spent on a compiler/static analysis tool) and a complete newbie in web development (I know the basics but never started a project myself) I’d be particularly interested in choosing a library/framework that is well documented and perhaps has some nice learning resource (tutorial, books etc.).

Any thoughts or experiences to share?
Thank you :slight_smile:

4 Likes

As you know, the answer is “it depends”.

I should open by saying that I’m not a real web developer, I only develop web apps when needed.

Currently, for what I do (e.g. data labeling, interactive visualizations), I enjoy adding frontend interactivity with HTMX. The cost/opportunity of this approach is that the application state is whatever is in the server memory + the browser DOM, and you end up needing a bunch of html templates.

A somewhat heavier alternative is miso (it requires the Nix build tool), but it offers a lot of stuff for the frontend.

I hope others will suggest their favorite framework combination!

You might have already noticed that grepping packages by category | Hackage for “web framework” yields many packages that are essentially DSLs for writing REST API servers, but don’t have “batteries included” support for the frontend part.

2 Likes

I very much enjoy creating web apps using Servant to serve HTML generated by HTMX and Lucid. JavaScript is used very sparingly.