Coming back after a few years away from Haskell. What's changed?

I’m starting a new project next week, and will likely be able to use Haskell. I’ve been doing other things for a few years, but prior to that I was using Haskell in production, writing Servant microservices, etc.

Catch me up! Here are some questions:

1. What’s the modern way to build applications and fetch dependencies? Last time around I was using stack for everything (including getting ghc binaries). I know of ghcup, but does it do anything besides install binaries?

2. What’s the latest in effects libraries? Any recommendations on where to look first?

3. Is dot syntax working for updates yet? Last I checked, the record-dot-preprocessor worked well, but the GHC extensions required implementing HasField by hand for updates.

4. Any other new developments I should be aware of?

Thanks!

6 Likes

I can help answer 1) and 4)

You’ve already mentioned it, but ghcup is now the way to go for managing your installation of ghc, cabal, stack, and hls. You can now have multiple versions of each installed on your computer, and with hls you can have vscode automatically detect and use ghcup to install and select the proper versions for your project. I used to have a whole nix setup that I used to control this for everything, but now I can just use ghcup + cabal because it has improved so much compared to the past.

Other less visible changes are the vastly improved support for ARM architectures, as well as the ongoing work on the JavaScript and wasm backends, and finally there is also the the new low-latency garbage collector which has made Haskell more suitable for real-time applications. All together, Haskell is usable in more places, in more ways than it ever has before.

2 Likes
  1. ghcup for managing GHC and cabal in my experience works well.