GHC Proposal: GHC Maintainer Previews

Hi everyone, I opened a GHC Proposal to improve the release cycle of GHC and its integration in the Haskell ecosystem. You can read it here.

7 Likes

As a hobbyist myself, I would really not like it if the “preview” would not be immediately available for me to tinker with, even if almost no libraries support it.

I think another alternative would be to always call the x.y.1 release of GHC a “beta” or “preview” release. So it would still be released publicly, just under a different name.

I think many x.y.1 releases have had critical bugs and therefore should already be avoided by the general user base. This would also give time to maintainers to update their library to this new version. Historically, I would say the average time between the x.y.1 and x.y.2 releases is about 6 months, which is admittedly a bit long.

Hi jaror,

As a hobbyist myself, I would really not like it if the “preview” would not be immediately available for me to tinker with, even if almost no libraries support it.

Could you please explain how making this “preview” available on ghcup and the Ubuntu PPA would prevent you from tinkering with it?

2 Likes

Oh sorry, I must have misunderstood. So my proposal would then be to always make the x.y.1 releases a preview release and have a non-fixed time window which is until the x.y.2 release.

The aim is to give library and tooling authors the means to update their code to accomodate the new version, without publishing a user-oriented GHC release yet. The kind of release that is proposed is in itself no different from a traditional Release Candidate. This proposal aims at polishing the surrounding release cycle and schedule.

This is really sensible!