How RealWorld passes to the main?

Hi all, I’m studying how I/O works and wondering how RealWorld passes to the program. I think it is somewhere in RTS but I’m not sure and I can’t find it

From what I know, we can rewrite the following code

main :: IO ()
main = do
  c <- getChar
  print c

as

main = IO $ \s ->        -- how RealWorld appears here?
  case unIO getChar s of
    (# s', c #) ->
      case unIO (print c) s' of
        x@(# s'', _ #) -> x

Could someone help me with that, please?

In the end, State# RealWorld is nothing. It is just a token used during optimizations to make sure everything is sequenced correctly. When GHC produces the final executable, all the State# RealWorld tokens are removed from the program.

2 Likes

ah, I thought about it

do you have some links about that behaviour? if so, could you provide the link where I can read about? (I would like to know more information, because I didn’t find that in papers such as “Tackling the Awkward Squad”, “Imperative functional programming”)

I don’t have any links. I think to know more you’ll have to look at GHC’s source code. What questions do you still have?

big thanks for the answer, will try to read GHC source code in next 4 months, cause I have many unfinished topics

um, actually I’ve forgotten to ask one more question and If you could answer on it, I would appreciate it

if we write that example

main = IO $ \realWorld ->
	case putStrLn "hello" of
    	IO f1 -> case putStrLn "goodbye" of
        	IO f2 -> case f2 realWorld of
            	(# realWorld', _ #) -> f1 realWorld' -- use realWorld of goodbye

and evaluate it, we will have this

goodbye
hello

in that case we chained the world, right?

however, if we write like this

case putStrLn "hello" of
    	IO f1 -> case putStrLn "goodbye" of
            	(# _realWorld, _ #) -> f1 realWorld -- use main's realworld

we will have the same thing, even though I’ve not threaded it

goodbye
hello

I really don’t understand that behaviour.