How to debug inside state monad

Hey! I am pretty new to Haskell and am trying to figure out how to do simple “println debugging” inside do-notation for a state monad. For example, I would like to print this variable vistedCasesAndDeps: https://github.com/leblowl/Carp/blob/7e733fbb495f3f69b2d1b7af4ca89a989255f3b5/src/Memory.hs#L352 … but it never prints. And I am running into this issue over and over again. Sometimes the trace prints and sometimes it doesn’t. The problem I think I am running into is Haskell’s laziness. It doesn’t want to print certain things, because it doesn’t need to? Is there anyway to force evaluation of trace calls? Are there any other tips for debugging in Haskell? Thanks!

In a monadic context you can use traceM

1 Like

Often in a do block I’ll say:

do
  x
  trace "something" $ pure ()
  y

Yes I tried traceM, but still doesn’t always print.

Tried with traceM and @sclv your suggestion: https://github.com/leblowl/Carp/blob/145e466478c17c58ab94233857e47b3f897d794b/src/Memory.hs#L352 but still nothing, and I don’t really understand why or how to work around it.

This may be due to your use of Control.Monad.State which picks the lazy state by default.

I personally always attach my trace to a piece of code of which I know it will be executed, that should work even if you use lazy state. In your code I would attach it to the case that follows it by replacing the (return ()) with $ and indenting the whole case expression.

You could also try switching to Control.Monad.State.Strict.

If none of that works then I would start questioning if that code is really executed at all.

1 Like

traceM is the same as @sclv’s suggestion:

traceM :: Applicative f => String -> f ()
traceM string = trace string $ pure ()

traceM works in both the lazy and strict State monads. If nothing is being printed then I strongly suspect that @jaror is correct and that this code is not being executed at all.

> import Control.Monad.State.Lazy as L