Is there a good Type Theory book?

I’d like to learn more about type theory. Is there a book you’d recommend?

Please, list the intended audience level and/or prerequisites with your recommendations if any. I do coding for a living, but I would like to deepen my general CS degree with robust knowledge.

I’d like to be literate about concepts in TT and fluent in reasoning about TT problems.

2 Likes

I’d recommend starting with Types and Programming Languages by Benjamin Pierce. It’s an absolute classic and does a great job bridging the gap between theory and practice. It’s intended as an introductory graduate-level textbook, so the prerequisites include familiarity with programming in general and comfort with basic mathematical formalisms. Should be perfect for someone who codes for a living and is looking to deepen their theoretical knowledge.

16 Likes

+1 for that recommendation.

1 Like

Types and Programming Languages is often advised, but I think it is more a reference than an introduction, and more about specific features of industrial type systems than about Type Theory itself. It describes, but it does not motivate. You could shuffle the chapters and it will be essentially the same book.

My alternative suggestion is Type Theory and Formal Proof: an Introduction by Rob Nederpelt and Herman Geuvers. It is indeed an introduction that made it easy for me to understand why type systems exist and what problems they can solve. Also, unlike Benjamin’s book, it goes all the way to dependent types.

6 Likes

The above mentioned are great books. If those are not enough then you might try:

• Proofs and Types by Girard (free)
    Has a focus on proofs and System F (and a bit of linear logic in the appendix by Lafont)
  • The HoTT Book | Homotopy Type Theory by many people (free)
    Starts with Martin Löf (dependent) type theory and makes it more complicated.
6 Likes