Looking at C++ after years of Haskell

I am an experienced Haskell programmer, although I only ever worked on one Haskell/PureScript project that was commercial. This year I had the weird idea to go into game development and I dived into the unreal engine which is all C++ for obvious historic reasons. Other game development engines (Unity and Godot come to mind) realized how C++ isn’t the best option and Unity chose C# quite sensibly, while Godot more boldly provides its own scripting language, which is really, really a good idea and makes working in Godot fun.

I didn’t chose unreal for it’s reliance on C++ but in spite of it.

Now I was wondering: Why is this Unreal/C++ bad, exactly? Is there a problem with object oriented programming, too? Are there advantages at all? Given my goal of finishing a game, how important is the programming language, really?

This goes to show what really lies at the core of my high productivity in Haskell. And I guess monads are part of it.

And these would be my answers/insights/claims after half a year of going back to C++:

1. Somewhat unsurprisingly, C++ and the unreal engine itself are old workhorses. Regarding programming paradigms they aren’t desirable tools and that hurts everywhere. The whole package that is the unreal engine still seems to be my best option. I.e. the programming language doesn’t matter as much as the whole toolbox.

2. In C++ good practices (often from newer versions) exist next to bad practices and the there is a lot of bad-practice-legacy-code, also game devs often are hobby programmer’s who don’t explore best practices as much as professional C++ devs might.

3. The C++ community often sabotages itself with misplaced discussion of optimal performance. Example:

setVisible(true);

supposedly ought to be replaced by

if(!bVisible)
{
    setVisible(true);
}

to “avoid a potentiallly redudant function call”.