Looking for a newbie Haskell book

I’m looking for a good book to learn Haskell. One without all the sales hype about Haskell. I have already decided to learn Haskell. The sales hype just wastes my time.

I do not need to lead how to feed Lisp code into a Haskell compiler. Just talk about Haskell, not Lisp.

I am an expert programmer with 30 years of experience with the Smalltalk IDE. The lack of a good IDE for Haskell is a definite negative. EclipseFP does not work. Atom does not work for Haskell. Stack and the other are building tools, but moronic compared with the Smalltalk IDE. The Smalltalk System Browser allows me to view everything on my computer. The Package Manager allows me to see what packages I can download and install on my computer. Both Managers are over 40 years old and still better than anything I have seen for Python, Lisp, APL, Prolog, Snobol, or Haskell.

Most books and tutorials talk as if their IDE would actually work on my machine. When it does not, their “help” is useless. All I see are versions of the C make utility.

I need a book for experienced programmers (with a degree in Mathematics) with examples which will work on my machine.

Robert Pearson

1 Like

Haskell is dramatically different from Lisp. I don’t think any Haskell intro text would be somehow teaching a newbie to ‘translate’ Lisp to Haskell, or aimed at ‘migrating’ someone from Lisp.

If your head is full of Lisp, I suggest the first thing you do is wash the Lisp out of it and start with a blank slate. I also suggest you wash your head of Smalltalk pre-conceptions. Functional Programming is dramatically different from OOP, and needs a different way of thinking/different abstractions. In particular beware that Haskell has artefacts called ‘classes’, ‘instances’ and ‘methods’, which share some superficial similarities but need a whole other mindset vs. OOP classes/methods.