Please comment on my Hangman game

Hello! I’m new to Haskell, coming from Dart, Python, and F#. I would very much appreciate it if some of you could offer constructive feedback on my very first Haskell program:

Thank you!

5 Likes

Welcome to Haskell! Hope you’re enjoying the language :slight_smile:

I’ll get right to the reviewing:

• Instead of doing safeHead <$> getLine, there’s also just getChar (though you might have to explicitly print a newline after it for esthetic reasons)
  • In the play function, you repeat the entire GameState _ _ _ a few times without changing anything. Would be easier to tell if you’d use an as-pattern like the following:
play gameState@(GameState secretWord goodGuesses badGuesses) = do
    AlreadyGuessed -> do
        showState gameState
        putStrLn "..."
        pure gameState

This way, it’s immediately obvious it’s just the state that we started with, AND there’s less clutter to read :wink:

• The {-# LANGUAGE Strict #-} pragma probably doesn’t do much in this situation, but I’d warn against using this without knowing what it will actually do. A lot of Haskell is expecting lazyness, and making literally everything strict from the get-go will hurt you more than help you. StrictData is generally seen as not a bad idea (though in edge cases could also bite you, but that’s only when you want to explicitly use laziness, e.g. like having a field be undefined / error ".." until some processing is done, after which that field gets filled before it’s actually used)

I personally really like default laziness so I can put huge computations in a let binding that “might” be run in certain cases, without having to wonder if the location of that let binding is going to influence the evaluation of that huge computation or not. Because that can actually worsen performance.

All in all this is very pleasant code to read, and seems pretty solid for what it’s supposed to do, so I’d like to congratulate you on a first program well done :+1: