The Curious Case of the Disappearing PQ

Quite stuck debugging something…

Might anyone know why my priority queue is simply empty in the DijkstraState monad when in the initialState it is most definitely not empty?

This is my first time working with Data.Heap, but everything typechecks; furthermore, when I trace the priority queue as part of the initial state, it looks fine:

initialState: (fromList [(0,(Node {coord = (0,0), weight = 2},0,E))],fromList [((0,0),0)])

But the trace in the monad shows an empty heap :confused: :

pq in modifiedDijkstra: fromList []

What’s weird is the other part of the initial state, the distance map, shows up as expected. :thinking:

Meta-question for the experienced folks: what else would you do to debug this further? I’m thinking maybe some sort of property test, but not quite sure how to formulate something like that.

I wonder if the trace is only working on the last iteration and hence the pq is empty. The lazy state monad is quite counterintuitive.

E.g.

ghci> import Debug.Trace
ghci> import Control.Monad.State
ghci> execState (trace "foo" (pure ()) *> put 1) 0 :: Int
ghci> execState (trace "foo" (pure ()) *> pure ()) 0 :: Int
foo

Ah, interesting! I did add other traces to subsequent parts of the modifiedDijkstra function (the thinking being some of these will have to get traced, eventually, even if evaluated lazily (?)), but these traces never fire:

modifiedDijkstra :: Grid -> DijkstraState
modifiedDijkstra grid = do
    (pq, dists) <- get
    -- BUG: pq is empty for some reason!
    traceM ("pq in modifiedDijkstra: " ++ show pq)
    case H.view pq of
        Nothing -> do
            traceM "pq is empty!"
            return ()
        Just ((dist, (node, steps, dir)), pq')
            | dist > (dists M.! coord node) -> do
                -- This trace never gets hit!
                traceM "pq is populated!"
                put (pq', dists)
                modifiedDijkstra grid
            | otherwise -> do