Which error message do you find easier to read? - Haskell - kbin.social

2 Likes

Ooh, I can do a poll here too:

• GHC-style
  • Elm-style

0 voters

1 Like

Elm errors are a nightmare to work with. It might be nice when you are a total beginner and have only one error but it becomes quiclly overhelming and vi unfriendly, the same error appers as 10 different errors.

2 Likes

I’m in particular looking for feedback on the error style and formatting, not so much the amount of errors or the content of the errors.

1 Like

I don’t really like either, but I slightly prefer GHC-style.

I like all the relevant location information in one place so I don’t have to look around, so splitting the filename and line number into two different places isn’t something I’m keen on.

I’d prefer having the offending line(s) first, followed by what sort of error it is, and then followed by other relevant details, but of the two options given, I prefer Elm’s approach where it’s immediately below the line stating what kind of error it is, instead of having the offending line at the bottom of the message.

I’m not a fan of the extraneous vertical whitespace in the Elm style error message - bullet points work well enough to group things and allow me to fit more errors on my screen. More whitespace means more scrolling when there are several errors.

I find that the in the ... of are almost always useless, especially when several functions are chained together with something like (.). I am in 100% agreement they should be removed. For example, I was just given

src/Optken.hs:56:54: error: [GHC-83865]
    • Couldn't match type: Endo (Map Text Bool)
                     with: Map k0 a0 -> Map Text Bool
      Expected: OptionParser err a
                -> Const (Map k0 a0 -> Map Text Bool) a
        Actual: OptionParser err a -> Const (Endo (Map Text Bool)) a
    • In the second argument of ‘(.)’, namely ‘go’
      In the first argument of ‘btraverse’, namely ‘(fmap I . go)’