Writing recursion properly

Hello, I’m very new to Haskell and to functional programming in general. I have a question about writing recursive functions - namely that I find myself writing ‘helper’ functions to pass state around. I do this in imperative languages as well, but I was wondering if Haskell had some sugar or otherwise to mitigate this? As an example, here is some code I’ve written to replicate the ‘stride’ syntax in eg python [start:end:stride]

-- Gentle replication of indexing syntax from imperative languages
getIndex :: [Char] -> Int -> Char
getIndex list 0 = head list
getIndex (x:xs) idx
    | idx > (length (x:xs)) = ' '
    | otherwise = getIndex xs (idx - 1)

-- The accumulated word, the source word, the index, the stride
getStrideHelper :: String -> String -> Int -> Int -> String
getStrideHelper acc src idx stride
    | idx >= length src = acc
    | otherwise = getStrideHelper ((getIndex src idx):acc) src (idx + stride) stride

-- The source word, the starting index, the stride
getStride :: String -> Int -> Int -> String
getStride word start_idx stride = reverse (getStrideHelper "" word start_idx stride)

Any and all comments / advice / criticism appreciated!

Thank you!

I think it is normal to use a helper function with more parameters than the public one. Using a second function with extra parameters is commonly used to achieve tail recursion.

If possible, it is better to use higher-order functions instead of writing the recursion yourself. This is called wholemeal programming and getStride could be something like

getStride word start_idx stride = snd . unzip . (filter (\(x,_) -> mod x stride == 0)) . (zip [0..]) . (drop start_idx) $ word
3 Likes

Welcome @atombear!

As far as “sugar” to mitigate these helper functions, I’ve commonly seen the helper functions defined as local functions, so like

getStride word start_idx stride = reverse (go "" start_idx)
  where
  go acc idx
    | idx >= length word = acc