A few questions for the fellow Haskellers from a beginner

I am a total beginner with no prior experience in any programming languages. I am doing a masters degree in computer Applications, a course offered in Indian universities. I want to try and learn functional programming, particularly Haskell. I am following good amount of resources and guidance shared by our community. I am grateful to everyone of them.

1. What is the current job market for Haskell? Is it friendly for the beginners?
  2. What are the example projects that should be displayed on the CV for the recruiters?
  3. If not Haskell, what other languages that I should pick up that’s based on functional programming paradigm?
  4. Are there any internships in the companies that use Haskell, if any how should one approach?
  5. How the nationality affects the prospects of the applicant?
1 Like

Generally speaking, I think there is less willingness to offer/help with relocation, visa, etc.
Some Arms industry position are effectively forbidden to foreign nationals.

2 Likes

I request the people of this community, please help me with some guidance.

I had a remote work using haskell. Now I have one using Scala. I am on the same timezone as NYC so that was a bigger factor.

2 Likes

I can only speak to US-based Haskell companies:

1. What is the current job market for Haskell? Is it friendly for the beginners?

IMO it’s less than ideal. There are often opportunities for experienced Haskellers, but getting your foot in the door as an entry-level Haskeller can be difficult.

You can find companies and openings here - GitHub - erkmos/haskell-companies: A gently curated list of companies using Haskell in industry

Tangent: I don’t think the overall programming job market is very friendly to newcomers at the moment, but that’s a different topic.

1. What are the example projects that should be displayed on the CV for the recruiters?

This is a good guide - How to Get a Haskell Job