[ANN] Web-View Initial Release: Type-safe HTML and CSS

web-view is a library for type-safe HTML and CSS with intuitive layouts and composable styles. This is an idea I’ve been experimenting with for a few years, and I’m happy to finally release it! I’ve used this approach on multiple professional projects, and it is currently being used at the National Solar Observatory. It combines the best ideas of Tailwindcss and Elm-UI with Haskell.

myPage = col (gap 10) $ do
  el (bold . fontSize 32) "My page"
  button (border 1) "Click Me"

Instead of relying on CSS’s poor programming features, we can use normal Haskell functions to factor and reuse our app’s styles

header = bold
h1 = header . fontSize 32
h2 = header . fontSize 24
page = gap 10

myPage = col page $ do
  el h1 "My Page"

It has more features, including

Any and all questions or feedback welcome! The reasoning behind using utility classes for CSS is explained well here. Also, stay tuned in the coming weeks for the upcoming release of Hyperbole, a server-only interactive web-framework that leverages this library.

23 Likes

I’ve notice It doesn’t rely in lucid nor blaze-html nor clay to build html / css. Any reason for that or it was just simpler to build from scratch?

1 Like

I started to build on top of lucid and found it too difficult to think clearly about my data types during development. Lucid and blaze are building HTML as they go along, and I needed to think about building static data types that I later convert to HTML. I wanted to be free of constraints when brainstorming the most user-friendly syntax.

That said, now that it’s finalized, I’d love to switch to blaze under the hood. I’ll take a look tomorrow but it should be possible. We wouldn’t get much benefit from lucid since web-view completely replaces the syntax.