Can't use Stack on macOS/Apple silicon due to linker problem with --gc-sections

I’m very new to this. I’m trying to use stack to run a tool. I have installed it via ghcup (ghcup installed view brew) on my Apple M1 running OS X Sonoma.

I cannot go through the basics: I follow the instructions found here The Haskell Tool Stack (Quick Start guide).

• stack new my-project works smoothly.
  • when I run stuck build (n the my-project directory) I get the following error:
➜  my-project stack build                                  
[3 of 3] Linking /Users/carbonem/.stack/setup-exe-cache/aarch64-osx/tmp-Cabal-simple_6HauvNHV_3.8.1.0_ghc-9.4.7
ld: unknown options: --gc-sections 
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
ghc-9.4.7: `gcc' failed in phase `Linker'. (Exit code: 1)

Error: [S-6374]
       While building simple Setup.hs (scroll up to its section to see the
       error) using:
       /Users/carbonem/.stack/programs/aarch64-osx/ghc-9.4.7/bin/ghc-9.4.7 -rtsopts -threaded -clear-package-db -global-package-db -hide-all-packages -package base -main-is StackSetupShim.mainOverride -package Cabal-3.8.1.0 /Users/carbonem/.stack/setup-exe-src/setup-6HauvNHV.hs /Users/carbonem/.stack/setup-exe-src/setup-shim-6HauvNHV.hs -o /Users/carbonem/.stack/setup-exe-cache/aarch64-osx/tmp-Cabal-simple_6HauvNHV_3.8.1.0_ghc-9.4.7
       Process exited with code: ExitFailure 1 

Perhaps this is an obvious issue but I really cannot find out how to solve it. Please help :slight_smile:

Thank you.

2 Likes

Look at these:

and try other similar searches here on this Discourse if needed:

Search results for '' - Haskell Community

to see if this problem has appeared before (and maybe for which a solution already exists).

1 Like