Confusion about list types

As far as I understand [a] means that there can be a list that can have any number of nested lists inside.

f :: [a] -> a
f (x:xs) = x

It is possible to call f [[1,2]] or f [[[True]]]] without issues.

What I don’t understand on the other hand is why does [1] :: [a] give an error in the ghci.

ghci> [1] :: [a]
<interactive>:20:2: error: [GHC-39999]
    * No instance for `Num a1' arising from the literal `1'
      Possible fix:
        add (Num a1) to the context of
          an expression type signature:
            forall a1. [a1]
    * In the expression: 1
      In the expression: [1] :: [a]
      In an equation for `it': it = [1] :: [a]

How come does it work when calling a function and it does not when defining the type of a variable?

I am a beginner learning haskell so please be patient with me :slight_smile:

2 Likes

There’s a few things here to help better your understanding.

First, as to your direct question, you have a list [] containing an integer literal 1. You’ve tried to assign it as a list [] that could contain anything a, where a is a type variable - so I suspect you are trying to declare a polymorphic list.

You can do this with an empty list, because an empty list can be any type of list.

ghci> [] :: [a]
[]

However, you’ve actually given it a value - an integer literal 1.

Now, this integer literal imposes a constraint on the type of values that the list can contain - it must be Num -eric, so it can’t just be a -nything. So it needs a Num a constraint a la:

ghci> [1] :: (Num a) => [a]
[1]

Aside from this, you’ve slightly confused data constructors and type constructors a little here:

[[1,2]] and [[[True]]] are the types of lists of lists (and so on), where the type of data stored in the lists is also a list.