Feedback about functional programming in Ruby

Hello guys,

I just join the group to fully embrace haskell. I come from a recent interview dissapoinment So the story is like this. I have some experience programming. Sadly I have more experience on languages like java. In my heart I love functional programming though, its only that it is really hard to get a functional programming job in my country. So I am reading about haskell, just read Graham Hurton’s book. I find it exciting. I just recently found out about optics! too which just makes me eager to learn more. I am not just an improvised programmer. I have an Msc, I have been programming for some years now. I even took a class from Philip Wadler himself. So this gets me really excited.

The thing is that now I am looking for a job. So I had this interview from a small company and they ask me to implement a program which basically grabbed an xml and then parsed it and stored it to the database with some rules related to the particular data. The problem in question was in ruby. I didn’t know the language so I learned it just for this interview. So here is the thing, as I told you I am reading Hurton’s book and I find the part where He talks about parsing I find it natural and elegant. So I decided to just mimic it since the problem in question to put it in practice. I am not saying it went well. So I wrote my code. It worked, it was fast. But I got terrible feedback. This is why I come to you. I got told it was confusing! I know this code is in ruby but bear with me. I want feedback from real pros, or a least people with certain mindset and I just think I will not get it from ruby programmers. So I share my code with you.