First time using Haskell

Hello, I’m new to Haskell and am attempting to write a seemingly impossible functional program incorporating the omniscience principle, a generic convergent sequence, and a type of cantor set 2^N

Q = set.empty
 cycle take Q (iterate(set.Q))
  N:Q
  i:Q
  k:Q
  v:Q
  n:Q
y = 0
 cycle take y (iterate(+1))
z = any(y)
i = i index z
k = k indez z
v = v index z
v = v index z
n = n index z
Ninf = N index inf
N = N
X = 0
X = X + 1
l = set((v index n) SuchThat v index n elem set(empty, set()) :: n elem N)
x = Ninf == set(k elem l SuchThat all(i) elem N(k index i >= k index next i))
p = any(x) elem X(p(x) == 0) || all(x) elem X(p(x) == 1)
take f != "" (repeat)
 take 100 (repeat)
  take j (iterate(+1))
   f = ""
   a = chr j
    if p == 1
     then f++a
     else
      then f=f
prelude> f

so far I’ve read a book on Haskell, but I’m having problems, supposedly with parsing…
if anyone can fix this code have at it, but please get back to me!

thanks,
Oliver

This definitely is not Haskell. Can you pick a specific problem you are having with the language?

take f != “” (repeat)

parse error???

!= is not Haskell (/= is), take f is missing an argument (or plain wrong if f is not an Int):

λ> take 2 [3,5,2,8]
[3,5]

thanks what else
I need all I can get

when I look at the examples all the functions require lists…
how do I use a function for boolean values of its parameters as relates to other uses of said values

Perhaps looking at some examples will help you understand the syntax better and allow you to write what you mean – Starting Out - Learn You a Haskell for Great Good!

3 Likes

how do I repeat until something

There is an until :: (a -> Bool) -> (a -> a) -> a -> a function for that.

cool

its yelling at me for

if p == 1

what is it wining about

I think there’s no point in trying to brute-force figure out Haskell works. If you read beginner-level educational material you’ll have better results faster.