Haskell Beginners 2022: Free online Haskell course

Hi everyone! :wave:

In January 2022 I was teaching a free Haskell course for complete beginners. No prior knowledge of Haskell was required. And I explained different various Haskell and FP concepts from scratch up to Monads and writing real-world applications in Haskell.

The course contains four 1-hour lectures. And they all are available on YouTube for free!

You can check a more detailed plan of the course:

The course also contains exercises. So if you want to learn Haskell, you can watch the lectures and solve the tasks :slightly_smiling_face:

Have fun learning Haskell! :hugs:

17 Likes

Congrats on finishing the course and thanks for the hard work!

3 Likes

Have you considered adding this to www.haskell.org (to the Documentation page, specifically)? It would bring more exposure.
If you would like to but do not have time to make a pull request, I can glady do it.

1 Like

I wouldn’t mind seeing my course on Haskell.org :hugs:
But I’m not a member of haskell org and I’m not sure if adding my course there aligns with the website goals. I see it mentions only a few courses and I don’t see a clear reason why my course should be added but not teaching materials created by other people :thinking:

I think @f-a means adding it to the Courses section of Documentation, which would indeed be very welcome.

1 Like

Adding more resources to this place sounds like a noble goal :clap:

But I think this should be done in a community-driven way due to HaskellOrg being the front page of Haskell. For example, creating a post and asking people to share Haskell courses for them to be added on the Documentation page, providing the criteria for inclusion/exclusion.

1 Like

I think you can add it now and worry about the right process later :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’m not going to add it there because HaskellOrg website doesn’t have clear Contributing guidelines telling which changes will be accepted and which are not.