How to learn language extensions

I’m relatively new to Haskell (although I was a programmer for 39 years), and I find the way some language extensions are documented to be rather opaque.

Let’s take a practical example. I wanted to contribute to a Haskell project (nameless, to protect the innocent) and the first module I opened up used:

{-# LANGUAGE FlexibleContexts #-}
{-# LANGUAGE OverloadedStrings #-}
{-# LANGUAGE TypeFamilies #-}

(other modules used other extensions). I hate guesswork, so I set about reading the docs for the unfamiliar extensions.

Flexible contexts didn’t seem too threatening, except that the docs were for GHC 9.0.1 and the latest FlexibleContexts docs are much terser and I have no idea why. The older docs were in a section that pointed at the paper Type classes: exploring the design space - a challenging read in itself.

Type families looked harder still. The docs linked to three academic papers and then extended over several pages. The Haskell wiki page on type families was a little gentler, but still pretty off-putting.

I dare say if I regarded getting up to speed on each of these extensions as a project in its own right, I could eventually become sufficiently confident that I would then know how to work with the module in question.

I’m interested in how others approach learning language extensions.

(This topic originated in a thread on maintainability.)

9 Likes

One way to go about this is to let your IDE/compiler help you. Comment out a single extension pragma. See where your IDE/compiler complains. Look at that specific code and think about what it is trying to do in the context of documentation on the extension.

11 Likes

Same thing when writing new code: see what pragma the IDE/compiler recommends - then read about that extension in the context of your code.

3 Likes

I recommend this section of What I Wish I Knew When Learning Haskell: https://github.com/sdiehl/wiwinwlh/blob/master/tutorial.md#language-extensions