Need suggestion on code quality and best practices

Hello everyone. I am a Javascript developer and very much a newbie on Haskell. Though I kinda understand and write basic Haskell codes but the concepts like “monads” and some other things just goes over my head.

I am currently trying out “Servant” to learn it and writing a hobby web service with. Initially I was bit scared of understanding from their documentation but I got good confidence in it and can easily write basic CRUD apps with it now. While working on this project I needed a Faker library for it. Though I found one, I thought of creating one myself just to learn the ecosystem of modules or libraries in Haskell.

I have started to code one here → https://github.com/rabbihossain/nokol

Since I am very new to Haskell ecosystem, I am currently thinking if my approach is right or not. Can anyone please have look at my source and suggest if I need any improvements?

I think your idea of creating that library is pretty cool!

I’ve read through it all and have some comments:

The function signatures overall aren’t very easy to understand when the types and function name are put together.
What is this supposed to do? Why do I pass three Strings to get a random string in IO ?

getRandomString :: String -> String -> String -> IO String

And more examples like this…

getRandomIntss :: String -> String -> String -> Int -> IO [Int]

Sometimes, defining a type synonym can help make things clearer

Second, you rely a lot on Strings and Ints, but algebraic data types are amazing, and perhaps you could give more use to them.
The People module is a prime example to use a data type definition

data Person = Person String String Int

-- In your current model of "passing a lang to every function and return the value in IO"
getManyPersons :: String -> IO [Person]
getManyPersons = ...

-- And then you could, e.g. define all other functions through that one
getManyFirstNames :: String -> IO [String]
getManyFirstNames lang = do