Request for code structuring feedback

tldr: I can write Haskell that works, but often think I could structure it better. I’d like some feedback and/or suggestions on how to improve some code.

Background

I’m at the stage with Haskell where I find I can generally write code that does what I want it to, but often find that it ends up bulky or difficult to test, or I find myself repeating more than I’d like to.

Although I have plenty of experience working in other languages, my knowledge of best practices in Haskell is lacking and I feel I might be missing some “jumps” of the form “If I’m writing this over and over I should consider refactoring to that”.

I’m currently working on a backend server for a website I manage which involves a concept of booking tickets for events. I’m using servant for the API structuring and polysemy for effect management.

The Problem

I find I end up writing server endpoints in a form like:

endpoint :: X -> Y -> Z -> Sem r a
endpoint x y z = do
  doSomething
    x
    y
    >>= \case
      ASuccessValue -> do
        logSomething
        doSomethingElse >>= \case
          ADifferentSuccessValue -> do
            ... etc
          ADifferentFailureValue err ->
            failureResponse $ "some message: " <> err
      AFailureValue err ->
        failureResponse err

This typically results in long chains of x >>= \case { ... } which can become quite hard to read, particularly when the actions within them are functions taking arguments spanning several lines.

My Thoughts on Approaches

I think a major part of it might be that I’m using sum types for a lot of pass/fail kind of cases, such as SendEmailSuccess | SendEmailFailure rather than Either. The reason for this is partly that if I were to refactor to use something like Either, I’m not sure how I could retain some of the injected debugging information for failures such as "some message" in the example above.